Contests & Creation

2010/03/02

It was looking to be a normal holiday season near mid December, and I had been on twitter sparsely since my move to New York state. I happened to glance at a contest that was going on, and I decided to enter. I figured it would be nice to try, yet didn’t expect to win anything. However, that was not the case, and I did, in fact, win the contest.
The same day I found out I won, I entered another contest. The excitement of actually winning was coursing through my veins, and thought “oh, what the heck”. Then the contest ended, and found out that I had won, yet again. People were excited, and some a bit jealous, that I’d won twice in a row.
I had entered a third contest. This is where S&S comes in.
A couple people started joking around, saying I was herculean, and had a high charisma. This group started “plotting” against me (in jest, of course), and tried to think of ways to kill a god. They wanted to sabotage my chances of winning (again, all a joke), and the only way to do so was to destroy me. One such idea was to throw me into the sun.
Then someone spoke up with an idea. The idea that “Sabotage & Suns” sounds like an Aztec/Mayan RPG. I really liked that idea. I figured, if nobody’s done it before, why don’t I? Designing and publishing my own RPG has been something I’ve always wanted to do. And I can’t sit around asking advice from everyone. At some point I have to just go and do it.
That’s what S&S is to me. It’s my first real attempt to put my name out in public doing something I love, and want to make a business from.
Very special thanks to @jonathanshade and @obsidianportal for the laughs, inspiration, and the name of my first RPG.

8 Responses to “Contests & Creation”

  1. Mark said

    So the goal is not so much to make sense as it is to leverage an inside joke.

    • Make no mistake, it may have started as an inside joke, but it’s something I do take seriously. The conversation may have been silly, but ideas and inspiration can come from anywhere. I do think the idea has merit, and I do think I can make it a legitimate product.

      • Mark said

        So at this point, the PCs are gods and people are trying to sabotage them, or they’re the ones trying to sabotage the gods?

        • When I said that I thought “the idea” had merit, I was referring to the general concept of an aztec/mayan themed rpg. People can play the game in whatever fashion they see fit. Your idea certainly would be one (or two in this case) way of playing, and sounds very intriguing actually. More will be revealed in due time 🙂

  2. Stuart said

    An Aztec/Mayan RPG sounds awesome!

    Since our game is set in the Southwest I look forward to borrowing ideas from you as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

